Elliff and Slade dominate in Tignes Under 14 Slaloms

Another day of impressive conditions gave the next generation of British Slalom stars ideal conditions on which to race. After two runs, it was Alexa Elliff giving CDC their first National Champion in the girls Under 14 race with Ted Slade from the British Ski Academy taking the combined honours in the boys race.

After the Under 16 race had been slightly blighted with overnight snow, the Under 14 first run race took place on hard pack snow while for the second run the snow softened slightly due to the intensity of the sun.

Giselle Gorringe won the first run in the girls race, posting a time three tenths faster than Elliff before Elliff came back with a monster of a second run to win by over one and a half seconds with Isla Ward in third. Tilly Black made it a great day for the CDC set up in finishing fourth with Kandahar’s Emelia Ackerley taking fifth. Ward, Black and Ackerley were closely packed on the second run with just eighteen hundredths separating the three races.

The boys race was a tighter affair with Ted Slade, Louis Masquelier Page and Lucas Ellis battling it out for the win. Ellis comfortably won the first run by over six tenths, with Slade taking just over a half second advantage over Masquelier page into the second race. Masquelier Page came back strongly in the second race and when the two times were combined, Slade had the win by just six hundredths of a second. Lucas Ellis took third after dropping a load of time on the second run to both the other two racers.

In the Under 12 and Under 10 races, there were wins for Tabitha Milkins in the Under 10 with India Ridgeway and Emily Owen joining her on the podium. In the Boys Under 10 race it was a Carrick Smith double on the podium with Freddy winning and Zac taking second with Harry Parker Swift taking third.

In the under 12 age group, Mathilde Phillips won the race ahead of Charlotte Gray and Sophie Stocker. Phillips and Stocker had been in joint second behind Gray after the first run before Phillips produced a race winning second run. In the boys race, Luca Carrick Smith took the race win after a blistering first run that saw him carve out a lead of over a second. Carrick Smith lost a ski on the second run but Sebastian Ackerley held on to take second ahead of James Dale.

RES9134 BAC2017 u10 GS results

RES9309 BAC2017 u12 GS results

BAC2017 u14 SL female combined results

BAC2017 u14 SL male combined results

Pictures from the racing are on www.racerready.zendfolio.com