Erskine wins vote for Chair of Alpine, Speed and Telemark Committee at BSS

British Ski and Snowboard have announced changes to the leadership of the Freestyle Committee and Alpine, Speed and Telemark Discipline Committees following the recent elections. … 

Taking over from Simon Ashton as Chair of the Freestyle Committee is Iain Mackay. The new Chair of the Alpine, Speed and Telemark Committee is Malcolm Erskine who takes over the role from Konrad Bartelski. For the Snowboard Committee, John O’Grady was voted back in as Vice-Chair (whilst the Chair remains as Colin Holden, who wasn’t up for re-election).

After working tirelessly for four years helping to establish BSS as the new Governing Body for British Snowsports, Simon Ashton has stood down (with immediate effect) from his role as Chairman of the Freestyle Discipline Committee and as a Director of BSS.  Mr Iain Mackay, who has served as Vice Chair of the Committee since its formation and who represents British interest on the FIS Freestyle committee, and is an International Freestyle Technical Delegate, will take up the position with immediate effect.

Malcolm Erskine, who collected 24% of the available votes, will be the new Chair of the Alpine Speed and Telemark Committee, replacing Konrad Bartelski with immediate effect.  Adrian Pery, Vice Chair of the Committee will handle arrangements during the transition of leadership. Konrad Bartelski, who has also made significant contribution to the establishment of BSS, will serve the remaining two months of his term as a Director of the Company so to complete ongoing work related to sponsorship and signing off the 2013/14 accounts. In the interim Malcolm Erskine will be invited to attend any BSS Board meetings as an observer.

For the Snowboard Committee in the election of a Vice-Chair for the Snowboard Committee, Mr John O’Grady collected 17% of the available votes.  John will therefore continue in his role of Vice Chair of the Committee.

The BSS Board are unanimous in their thanks to all of the individuals who have put their names forward to help in the successful management of British elite snowsports.

Special commendation is given to Simon Ashton and Konrad Bartelski who have both played integral roles in the advancement of BSS, the success of our top athletes and the redefinition of our performance pathways.   Their ideas, help, support and commitment to British Snowsports has played a major part in the success of our elite athletes during the last two seasons in Olympic, World Cup and Europa Cup events.

BSS Press Release