Athletes’ Commission inches closer to FIS Council membership


The FIS Athletes’ Commission held its annual meeting in Barcelona, a primary goal of the group was reached when they received news that the FIS Council had granted a non-voting observer position to the Athletes’ Commission. … 

“This is great news. The decision will enable us to represent the athletes’ interests at Council level and in turn provide the athletes a greater understanding of the important side of FIS which goes on behind the decisions,” said FIS Athletes’ Commission Chair Kikkan Randall. “We are very grateful to have been given this opportunity and will use it as a learning experience and look forward to working with the Council on a proposal for the next Congress to be included in the decision-making processes as a (full) Council member.”

The many areas of activity of the Commission include dual career, the promotion of clean sport, and children’s initiatives. It was a perfect opportunity for experts from the World Academy of Sport (Chris Solly), FIS Anti-Doping (Sarah Fussek) and FIS Bring Children to the Snow (Andrew Cholinski) to join the meeting and foster collaboration between the respective initiatives and the Commission.

Further detailed discussions centered around the establishment of safety concern protocols which could be used to officially announce issues with the jury, in addition to establishing athlete networks to efficiently gather feedback and spread important information.

Members of the Athletes’ Commission include:

Chairperson - Kikkan Randall (USA), Cross-Country ladies

Vice-Chair - Julien Lizeroux (FRA), Alpine Skiing men

Members - Oystein Pettersen (NOR), Cross-Country men; Sabrina Windmueller (SUI), Ski Jumping ladies; Kamil Stoch (POL), Ski Jumping men; Alessandro Pittin (ITA), Nordic Combined; Jessica Lindell-Vikarby (SWE), Alpine Skiing ladies; Veronika Velez-Zuzulova (SVK), Alpine Skiing ladies; Michael Janyk (CAN), Alpine Skiing men; Lydia Lassila (AUS), Freestyle Skiing ladies; Filip Flisar (SLO), Freestyle Skiing men; Marion Kreiner (AUT), Snowboard ladies; Konstantin Schad (GER), Snowboard men.

Release courtesy of FIS

Picture: Ted Ligety Credit Zoom Agence