BASS Giant Slalom races at Welsh Championships see promising racers for the future

Yasmin Cooper on her way to winning the Welsh Championship GS - Picture COPYRIGHT RACER READY

There is a saying ‘Little snow, big snow; big snow, little snow,’ and the arrival of more snow falling in Champery was great news for the resort. With most of the older racers having moved on to the next race, the next generation of got down to the serious aspect of racing and did not let the falling snow affect their racing.

Ambition’s Olivia Ward won both runs in the Under 14 girls race to take the overall win with Meghan Davis and Shannon Potter joining her in second and the third on both runs.

In the boys race Matthew Heginbotham won the first run by half a second from Charles Rankin with Jake Doyle in third. Oscar McCall significantly raised his game on the second run to take the run with Heginbotham in second and Rankin taking third. Heginbotham took the overall win with Rankin holding on for second and McCall taking third as the British Ski Academy dominated the first five places overall.

In the Under 16 girls, a gutsy first run by Erika Heginbotham saw her take the lead but she was pegged back after Yasmin Cooper produced a stunning second run to take the win and give the BSA a one two in the overall results. Australian Zali Offord took third after Ella Ward made a huge error on the second run to drop off the podium.

Matthew Davis won his first race but was made to work hard for it as his Australian training partner Bryn Jarman produced a fighting second run and in the end Davis held on for the win by just 0.16seconds. Ralph Walker-Moretti held on comfortably to take third in the age group.

Annie Usher won the Senior race after Francesca Baird crashed out on the second run. Amelia Hodgeson took second with Debbie Henery third in a depleted field. Milo Bastow took the win in the men’s race from Ray Pritchard.

The Welsh Championships would not be the Welsh Championships if the Under 10 and Under 12’s did not get their two run, best time to count race. The next generation of racers did the same course, same length as their older counterparts and the smiles as they whizzed down were just as big. With 23 pocket rockets on the start list, this shows how healthy the racing is in the lower age groups.

Nanoha Yoshoika from Aiglon College took the win in the girls Under 12 race with Rebecca Chastney and Shona Rankin joining her on the podium, both from the BSA; Rankin in her first year of racing! Kita O’Neill won the Under 10’s race. Louis Masquilier-Page made it a double for Aiglon in the Under 12’s. Ambition’s Max Pini took second with a much faster second run after Dragon’s Thomas Butterworth produced a great second run to force himself onto the podium. Oliver Pollitt took fourth and Ted Slade fifth in the largest group racing on the day!

And now for the slalom for all….